Carthorse Syndrome?


Don’t tell Stephen Covey, but I basically skipped the chapter called ‘begin with the end in mind’.

I thought, “this is a bit philosophical… I just want to get organized and get stuff done. I’ll just wing it.” For about 18 months, I’ve put some of Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People into play, and the weekly planning has definitely given me focus on how I want to spend my week.¬† However, I’ve been feeling that all my activity lacks coherence— what’s holding it all together? Where’s it all leading?

Sheepishly, I’m realizing I have to go back and do my homework. Without intimately knowing my purpose and my goals, all the planning is just aimless activity. It can be the same with money: you tweak your weekly or monthly routine, save more, but why? You’ve got to have an ultimate purpose.

If you start making a plan before you’ve established the dream and goal, you’ll only get so far before you run out of motivation. Doing the plan before the goal is like putting the cart before the horse. The cart is meant to be pulled by the horse. Yes, it’s a bit philosophical, but if you haven’t spent the time to clarify the reason behind it all, trust me, it’ll stop you eventually.

Honestly, I’ve never planned my year before , but I’ve been taking some time to reflect and craft my mission and my purpose. This new year, I want my plans and activity to all be leading me somewhere on purpose. What are your big goals and dreams for this next year?

4 responses to “Carthorse Syndrome?

  1. I’ve been wanting to read that book but it’s not in at the library yet. For me, if I were to focus on the main thing, I think my ‘big’ goal would be to get a job and set up a life from that (cause I’ll most likely be moving). I have a lot of little dreams, but planning for those without any foundation (job) probably wouldn’t work out so well.

    What’s your ‘goal’ or purpose?

    • Thanks for visiting and sharing, Ann! Wow, big question! If you have dreams, I’d definitely recommend owning a copy of this Covey book for $6 brand new online. Personally, I have a few goals for 2011 that include travel, starting a business, getting debt free, and one or two others. As Covey suggests, I’ve written a personal mission statement: Love God, love Michelle, add hope, set free. Ann, it’s great that you’re thinking about your goals. I find the more you reflect on it the clearer it will become. Also: work is just one part of your life and who you are. Don’t be afraid to go after those little dreams as well!

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by! You have an interesting blog concept for sure. Hope you’re gearing up for an awesome 2011! So what’s your story?

Leave a Reply

