Let’s get ready to rumble…


I can’t believe I finally did it. The gloves are off, and it’s going to be a bare-knuckled fight until one of us is down for the count. I bit the bullet and took a second job in order to knock out my last remaining debt, my student loan.

It’s something I’ve sort of subconsciously been avoiding for a couple of years. What shook me into action was a sit-down chat with my lovely wife, and a revelation about the emotional toll of that debt. I didn’t realize that a) I haven’t been man enough to step up and do whatever it takes, and b) it would come down to good old-fashioned hard work. I thought I could come up with some creative income stream, aim it at my loan, and watch it vanish. That’s not outside the realm of possibility, but there comes a time when you just have to throw down and fight for things. It’s just dumb that it’s taken me this long.

In about a week, I’ll be shifting it into high gear, taking my awesome full-time role with a financial planning organization, and adding a part-time job at a local hospital transporting patients and equipment. It’s going to be a lot of work, but I suppose extraordinary results require some extraordinary effort. The fact that it isn’t a permanent arrangement gives some consolation. When I’ve thrown the knockout punch and the student loan is gone, then I can reassess.

When I think about what I’ve just signed myself up for, and the challenge of it all, I first feel a bit worried. Then, I feel it’s a test of my strength which I’ve resolved to win, and I’m proud to be facing it up. It feels like a manly thing to do, and I’m willing to fight for our financial health, freedom, and future. After all, I’m the idiot that signed up for the student loans, now I’m the one that has to take it outside and battle until it’s finished.

Is there anyone else out there who has been putting this off, like me? I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

