I’ve put this off for far too long


Remember that part in the first Lord of the Rings movie where Bilbo Baggins gets ready to leave the Shire? If so, you’re a geek. That’s okay, so am I…read on, it’ll get geekier.

Bilbo had been settled into his cozy little hillside villa for ages, but began to get restless because he knew adventure awaited him on the road leading away from home. He said things like “I feel thin, like butter scraped over too much bread”, and told his nephew “I’ve put this off for far too long”. He was made for adventure and challenge, and knew he wasn’t having any at home by the fireplace. [I recall these quotes without having to look them up… am I a geek?]

I sort of feel the same way. As I wrote last week, I’m throwing it into high gear and have got a 2nd job, starting tomorrow. I definitely have put this off for far too long. I wonder, if I’d manned up to my student loan debt in 2008, how much farther along we’d be? Well, at least I’ve learned a thing or two from all this.

  1. Avoid debt like the plague.
  2. Man up and just do what’s needed, now.

Anyway, I report for orientation for job number two at 8AM tomorrow morning, and the adventure begins. This quote I did look up:  It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no telling where you might be swept off to.

Leave a Reply

