7 easy ways to cripple your finances


Looking for some really great ways to maim, hamper, or thwart yourself financially? Here are some of the quickest ways to the bottom:

  1. Habitually ignore your bank accounts
  2. Get a student loan and go to college
  3. Regularly spend more than you earn
  4. Finance your car
  5. Borrow more than 90% of your house’s value
  6. Get a personal loan to take a vacation
  7. Buy lotto tickets religiously

Personally, I’ve found numbers 1, 2 and 4 to be particularly effective, but I’m sure you could find your own combination that would work really well.

Sarcasm aside, these are all choices I’ve seen people crap on their finances with. A few of them really used to slow me down, but I’m getting faster now by making better choices. Sometimes it involves knowing what’s what, but usually it’s about just acting like a grown-up.

Which ones have you tried so far? How did it go?

4 responses to “7 easy ways to cripple your finances

  1. I think you nailed it in one. I can identify with 1,3 and 4 at different times in my life.

    Kym

  2. Kym,
    Great to hear from you again! Thanks for the input. Any others you want to add to the list? By the way, hope you don’t mind but I read your comment in an upcoming podcast to be released soon… is that kosher?
    Best,
    Jake

  3. I’m pretty good myself with 1 and 4 although I’m in the process of selling my 4 to make way for a much cheaper and monthy payment free option! Love your blog, can’t say I check it religiously, but I do enjoy catching up.

    • D-shizzle, that is a very smart move. Normally people would just keep that payment until it’s gone. What’s the master plan, are you in attack-mode with debt or something?

Leave a Reply

